His Grace Meets with Illinois State Senate and Governor

March 12, 2013 

Contact: Rev. David G. Bissias
Special Assistant to the Metropolitan
TEL.: (219) 932-7347
EMAIL: frdgb@sbcglobal.net 


On Wednesday, March 6, the Chancellor of the Greek Orthodox Metropolis of Chicago, Bishop Demetrios of Mokissos, was introduced on the floor of the Illinois State Senate and later met with Governor Pat Quinn in support of Senate Resolution (SR) 70, a call for the Turkish government to loosen restrictions and return confiscated properties to the spiritual home of Greek Orthodox Christians around the world, the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople (modern Istanbul), respecting the religious freedom of the Orthodox Christian minority of Turkey.

Bishop Demetrios was introduced on the Senate floor by Senator Bill Brady, chief sponsor of SR 70. On the floor Bishop Demetrios met many Senators and discussed the importance of the resolution passed without opposition by the Illinois House of Representatives in 2007 but delayed in the higher chamber of the Illinois General Assembly. Following his annual Budget Address that day, Governor Pat Quinn also had a private meeting with Bishop Demetrios at which the Governor endorsed the resolution.

Sen. Brady is joined by Sens. Darin LaHood, Antonio Munoz, Mike Frerichs and Steven Landek as Co- Chief Sponsors. A growing number of senators have signed on as co-sponsors, including Jason Barickman, Sam McCann, Pamela Althoff, Bill Cunningham, John Mulroe, David Luechtefeld, Patricia Van Pelt, Michael Connelly, Christine Radogno, Kirk Dillard, James Clayborne, Chapin Rose and David Koehler. The Greek Orthodox Metropolis of Chicago, with the assistance of the “Friends of the Ecumenical Patriarchate from Peoria Committee” are urging passage of SR 70 without delay.

Since January, the “Friends of the Ecumenical Patriarchate from Peoria Committee” has been working with Bishop Demetrios to raise awareness among the greater public and Illinois Senators about the plight of the Ecumenical Patriarchate. Committee members include John and Maria Ackerman, Frank and Katena Lagouros, George Manias and Emanuel Manias, of Peoria, IL.

Official Press Release

Official Press Release