Metropolis News

Back to all news

The Metropolis of Chicago is comprised of 59 parishes and covers more than 300,000 square miles of territory, including the states of Illinois, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa and parts of Missouri and Indiana. While hierarchs throughout the Archdiocese make every effort to visit as many of their parishes as possible, few have accomplished as much as our own Chancellor, His Grace Bishop Demetrios of Mokissos. During 2012, his Grace visited 57 of the 59 parishes of the Metropolis – he visited some parishes multiple times. In total, including other Metropolis institutions and Monasteries, His Grace made 86 episcopal visitations on behalf of and with the blessing of His Eminence Metropolitan Iakovos.

To view a complete list of His Grace’s visitations, click here.